Induction 2019

The 2019 Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony took place on Tuesday, April 2, 2019 in the Rosenthal Pavilion on the 10th floor of the Kimmel Center at NYU. As always, it was a wonderful night to to celebrate the new inductees into Upsilon Chapter and honor the 2019 scholarship and grant recipients, as well as network with current Upsilon Chapter board, committee, and general members.

Dean Eileen Sullivan-Marx provided her traditional opening remarks. The new Executive Vice Dean at NYU Meyers, Dr. Sean Clarke, then provided an excellent keynote address, talking about being “Scholars in a Practice Discipline."

After dinner and the presentation of the scholarship, grant, and award winners, new inductees were presented with their Sigma ribbon, given the traditional white rose, and then signed their name in the induction book, which dates back to the first induction ceremony in 1961.

It was an outstanding evening to celebrate NYU Meyers, Sigma, Upsilon Chapter, and nursing. Finally, raffle winners were announced, with the traditional Upsilon Raffle raising $600 
for Upsilon's service partner, New York Common Pantry.



The 2017 Scholarship and Grant winners:

Graduate Program:

  • Sandy Cayo (Duquesne)

Undergraduate Program:

  • Larissa Burka
  • Lisa Lin
  • Shannon McBrien

Research Grant:

  • Sandy Cayo, PhD Program at Duquesne: "The Effect of Perceived Discrimination on Cardiovascular Health in African American Women"
  • Jennifer Reed, PhD Program at NYU Meyers: "Opioid Prescribing for Chronic Non-Malignant Pain: A Survey of Nurse Practitioners in Primary Care"

Our 2019 Upsilon Inductees: